Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Iterative Deadlock Control for Petri Net Models of Automated Manufacturing Systems: Algorithms and Case Studies

Iterative Deadlock Control for Petri Net Models of Automated Manufacturing Systems: Algorithms and Case Studies
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Anrong Wang (Xidian University, China) and MengChu Zhou (New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA & Tongji University, China)
Copyright: 2013
Pages: 26
Source title: Formal Methods in Manufacturing Systems: Recent Advances
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Zhiwu Li (Xidian University, People’s Republic of China) and Abdulrahman M. Al-Ahmari (King Saud University, Saudi Arabia)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-4666-4034-4.ch012



Deadlocks should be eliminated in resource allocation systems such as flexible manufacturing systems. An iterative deadlock control policy is usually considered to be a natural solution with reasonable computational cost for a large-scale system where direct methods would be prohibitively expensive (and in some cases impossible) even with the best available computing power. This chapter reviews the existing iterative deadlock prevention policies for discrete event systems that are modeled with Petri nets. A number of technical problems in the existing iterative deadlock control approaches are formulated and discussed. Their solutions are illustrated through case studies. The authors conclude that the suitability, effectiveness, and efficiency of an iterative deadlock control approach are sensitive to specific examples and no general algorithm is found in the literature, which works well for all cases.

Related Content

Natalie Nicole Mar Hernández, Patricia Cano-Olivos, Diana Sánchez-Partida, José-Luis Martínez-Flores, Santiago Omar Caballero-Morales. © 2020. 21 pages.
Maidely Fernández-Rodríguez, Diana Sánchez-Partida, Patricia Cano-Olivos, José-Luis Martínez-Flores. © 2020. 28 pages.
Patricia Melchor-Pereda, Diana Sánchez-Partida, José-Luis Martínez-Flores, Patricia Cano-Olivos. © 2020. 28 pages.
Kamalendu Pal. © 2020. 18 pages.
Kamalendu Pal. © 2020. 27 pages.
Shubhajit Das, Kakoli Roy, Tage Nampi. © 2020. 22 pages.
Sudhansu Shekhar Patra, Veena Goswami, G. B. Mund. © 2020. 24 pages.
Body Bottom