Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Revisiting Mason: The Last 18 Years and Onward

Revisiting Mason: The Last 18 Years and Onward
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Lee A. Freeman (University of Michigan - Dearborn, USA) and A. Graham Peace (West Virginia University, USA)
Copyright: 2005
Pages: 18
Source title: Information Ethics: Privacy and Intellectual Property
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Lee Freeman (West Virginia University, USA) and A. Graham Peace (West Virginia University, USA)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-59140-491-0.ch001


View Revisiting Mason: The Last 18 Years and Onward on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


Richard Mason’s seminal paper describing the four ethical issues of the information age has guided the field of Information Ethics for almost 20 years. However, much has changed with regard to information technology since 1986, and perhaps Mason’s four ethical issues — Privacy, Accuracy, Property, and Accessibility — have become dated. To set the stage for the following chapters, and to provide the reader with some context, this chapter takes a retrospective look at Mason’s issues and discusses how they remain salient in today’s information-rich and technology-driven society. Additional issues that have emerged since Mason’s publication are also discussed, with a discussion of “justified” hacking as a focused and critical analysis of Mason’s four issues. While no firm conclusions are reached regarding the ethics of specific actions, the chapter reinforces the continued use of the four ethical issues in future research, and it prepares the reader for the more detailed discussions that follow in the remaining chapters.

Related Content

Ben van Lier. © 2018. 21 pages.
Jose-Luis Perez-Trivino. © 2018. 18 pages.
Gabriel R. Ricci. © 2018. 20 pages.
Tommaso Bertolotti, Selene Arfini, Lorenzo Magnani. © 2018. 14 pages.
Francesco Albert Bosco Cortese. © 2018. 31 pages.
Lambèr Royakkers, Peter Olsthoorn. © 2018. 18 pages.
John Forge. © 2018. 11 pages.
Body Bottom