Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Analytical Network Process in Decision Making

Analytical Network Process in Decision Making
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Thantirige Sanath Siroshana Jayawardena (Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology, Sri Lanka)and Chandimal Sanjeewa Jayawardena (Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology, Sri Lanka)
Copyright: 2023
Pages: 17
Source title: Social Research Methodology and Publishing Results: A Guide to Non-Native English Speakers
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Candauda Arachchige Saliya (Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology, Sri Lanka)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-6684-6859-3.ch012


View Analytical Network Process in Decision Making on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


Analytic Network Process (ANP) is a generalized form of the Analytical Hierarchical Process (AHP). AHP is an objective theory of deriving the decision makings on absolute scale values starting from subjective relative measurements perhaps on tangible or intangible or a mix of both rated by the experts. A consistency measure of the relative ratings is verified with a consistency ratio to assure the ratings of the experts are consistent. The clustering of criteria/sub-criteria with inner and outer dependencies as well as feedback is taken into account in ANP. In ANP rather than a hierarchical process, a network structure is assumed and all nodes in the network are treated equally with interaction between nodes and grouping into clusters. A super-matrix is constructed, then normalized it to get weighted super matrix and raised it to a sufficient power to converge this into a unique eigen vector representing the final weights in limit super-matrix. Step by step iterations of ANP was demonstrated with a selection of car example.

Related Content

Tutita M. Casa, Fabiana Cardetti, Madelyn W. Colonnese. © 2024. 14 pages.
R. Alex Smith, Madeline Day Price, Tessa L. Arsenault, Sarah R. Powell, Erin Smith, Michael Hebert. © 2024. 19 pages.
Marta T. Magiera, Mohammad Al-younes. © 2024. 27 pages.
Christopher Dennis Nazelli, S. Asli Özgün-Koca, Deborah Zopf. © 2024. 31 pages.
Ethan P. Smith. © 2024. 22 pages.
James P. Bywater, Sarah Lilly, Jennifer L. Chiu. © 2024. 20 pages.
Ian Jones, Jodie Hunter. © 2024. 20 pages.
Body Bottom