Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Past-Blogging: Defining a Practice

Past-Blogging: Defining a Practice
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Ana Lúcia Migowski da Silva (Justus Liebig Universität/Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture, Germany), Gabriela da Silva Zago (MIDIARS, Brazil) and Daiani Ludmila Barth (University of Brasília, Brazil & Federal University of Rondônia, Brazil)
Copyright: 2018
Pages: 16
Source title: Digital Multimedia: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Information Resources Management Association (USA)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-5225-3822-6.ch003


View Past-Blogging: Defining a Practice on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


In this paper, the authors conceive past-blogging as a narrative practice which is based on a specific media format. The practice can be initially defined as an account of past events developed according to blogs' most common characteristic: the reverse chronological order of published posts, in which the most recent posts appear on top of the page. Past-blogging practices give rise to cultural products developed in various digital media platforms, especially in journalistic and educational contexts. In order to understand this phenomenon, the authors conducted an empirical and qualitative analysis of 34 cases in which content producers narrate past events by reenacting them or telling their history as if they were happening in the present. The sample – composed by different categories of events, platforms, narrative strategies, motivations for the content production and participation of audience – demonstrates how historical events have been represented within digital media.

Related Content

Reinaldo Padilha França, Yuzo Iano, Ana Carolina Borges Monteiro, Rangel Arthur. © 2020. 20 pages.
José María Jorquera Valero, Pedro Miguel Sánchez Sánchez, Alberto Huertas Celdran, Gregorio Martínez Pérez. © 2020. 27 pages.
Sadiq J. Almuairfi, Mamdouh Alenezi. © 2020. 25 pages.
Avinash Kaur, Parminder Singh, Anand Nayyar. © 2020. 17 pages.
Brij B. Gupta, Somya Rajan Sahoo, Prashant Chugh, Vijay Iota, Anupam Shukla. © 2020. 24 pages.
Poonkuntran Shanmugam, Manessa Jayaprakasam. © 2020. 32 pages.
Phuc Do, Trung Hong Phan. © 2020. 19 pages.
Body Bottom