Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Local Site Effects Evaluation Using Geophysical Methods

Local Site Effects Evaluation Using Geophysical Methods
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Osman Uyanık (Suleyman Demirel University, Turkey), Nurten Ayten Uyanık (Isparta University of Applied Sciences, Turkey)and Nevbahar Ekin (Suleyman Demirel University, Turkey)
Copyright: 2024
Pages: 34
Source title: Innovations in Engineering and Food Science
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Shilpa Mehta (Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand), Fakhar Islam (NUR International University, Pakistan)and Ali Imran (Government College University, Pakistan)
DOI: 10.4018/979-8-3693-0819-6.ch002


View Local Site Effects Evaluation Using Geophysical Methods on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


The waves that occur in an earthquake affect the behavior of the soil and the building due to the structural condition of the bedrock and the physical properties of the soil near the surface. To predict this interaction, the deep underground structure models of the areas considered as settlements should be determined and how the earthquake waves will be directed (macro-zoning) depending on this should be revealed. Since the near surface features of the ground can increase the effect of earthquake waves, it is necessary to determine the near surface properties and create their maps (micro-zoning). Earthquake waves are formed in thick sediments compared to the rock environment and cause great damage to both the ground and the buildings. In order to be protected from these damages, it is necessary to determine focusing and scattering conditions arising from the deep underground base topography. Therefore, parameters such as maximum horizontal ground acceleration, soil liquefaction, soil dominant vibration period, soil amplification, and near-surface soil properties should be determined.

Related Content

Roopashree Nayak, Pavanalaxmi S., Praveen Kumar M.. © 2024. 22 pages.
Osman Uyanık, Nurten Ayten Uyanık, Nevbahar Ekin. © 2024. 34 pages.
S. C. Vetrivel, T. Mohanasundaram. © 2024. 31 pages.
S. C. Vetrivel, T. Mohanasundaram. © 2024. 31 pages.
Dharmesh Dhabliya, Sukhvinder Singh Dari, Nitin N. Sakhare, Anish Kumar Dhablia, Digvijay Pandey, A Shaji George, A. Shahul Hameed, Pankaj Dadheech. © 2024. 14 pages.
Wisha Waheed, Samreen Latif, Alghayia Tahir, Arisha Ahmed, Ali Imran, Fakhar Islam. © 2024. 18 pages.
Aliza Batool, Umar Farooq, Nida Firdous, Afshan Shafi, Zulqurnain Khan, Shabbir Ahmad, Muhammad Sibt-e-Abbas, Muhammad Usman. © 2024. 24 pages.
Body Bottom