Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Research on Assessing Lidocaine, Ketamine, and Dexamethasone for Airway Complications

Research on Assessing Lidocaine, Ketamine, and Dexamethasone for Airway Complications
View Sample PDF
Author(s): R. M. Mulla (Krishna Vishwa Vidyapeeth, India), V. M. Joshi (Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, India), P. B. Patil (Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, India)and Kiran Kumar Thoti (Universiti Malaysia Kelantan, Malaysia)
Copyright: 2024
Pages: 14
Source title: Advancements in Clinical Medicine
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): P. Paramasivan (Dhaanish Ahmed College of Engineering, India), S. Suman Rajest (Dhaanish Ahmed College of Engineering, India), Karthikeyan Chinnusamy (Veritas, USA), R. Regin (SRM Instıtute of Science and Technology, India)and Ferdin Joe John Joseph (Thai-Nichi Institute of Technology, Thailand)
DOI: 10.4018/979-8-3693-5946-4.ch007


View Research on Assessing Lidocaine, Ketamine, and Dexamethasone for Airway Complications on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


Postoperative sore throats, hoarse voice, and emergency coughing are complications that can cause discomfort and dissatisfaction for patients after endotracheal intubation. This study aimed to assess how well three intracuff treatments reduced these problems while maintaining safety. Three hundred adult patients receiving elective surgery under general anaesthesia participated in a randomised, double-blind clinical experiment. Random assignments were made to provide intracuff alkalinized lignocaine, lignocaine combined with ketamine, or lignocaine combined with dexamethasone to the participants. The incidence of emergent coughing, painful throat following surgery, and hoarseness of voice were measured as the initial outcomes as soon as the patient was extubated. Unfavorable incidents were also noted.

Related Content

Ramesh Chandra Aditya Komperla, Kiran Sree Pokkuluri, Varun Kumar Nomula, G. Uma Gowri, S. Suman Rajest, J. Rahila. © 2024. 16 pages.
S. S. Subashka Ramesh, Anish Jose, P. R. Samraysh, Harshavardhan Mulabagala, M. S. Minu, Varun Kumar Nomula. © 2024. 17 pages.
L. K. Hema, Rajat Kumar Dwibedi, V. Vanitha, Animesh Chandra Dey, G. R. Jothlakshmi, Sanat Kumar Dwibedi. © 2024. 12 pages.
Gnaneswari Gnanaguru, S.Silvia Priscila, M. Sakthivanitha, Sangeetha Radhakrishnan, S. Suman Rajest, Sonia Singh. © 2024. 20 pages.
C. Meenakshi, S. Meyyappan, A. Ganesh Ram, M. Vijayakarthick, N. Vinoth, Bhopendra Singh. © 2024. 14 pages.
Vithal K. Dhulkhed, N. V. Kanase, P. B. Jamale, Nagham Mahmood Aljamali. © 2024. 12 pages.
R. M. Mulla, V. M. Joshi, P. B. Patil, Kiran Kumar Thoti. © 2024. 14 pages.
Body Bottom